The National Academy of Art has two faculties: Faculty of Fine Arts (FFA) and Faculty of Applied Arts and Design(FAAD). The academic research units in the two faculties are relevant departments, which are responsible for the development and implementation of educational programmes for acquiring higher education in the professional field of Fine Art for Bachelor's degree and Master's degree, and the educational and scientific degree Doctor. In all specialties except  the main artistic disciplines that form the professional training of students there are included painting, art history, aesthetics, philosophy, plastic anatomy, perspective, etc. All students have the right to be educated together with a chosen by them specialty in a second specialty “Theory and Practice of Art Education”. This allows them to receive professional training for practicing as art teachers in secondary general education and specialised art education schools. Staff members in the Department of Drawing, the Department of History of Art, and the Department  of Psychology of Art, Art Education and General Education Subjects carry out the education in these disciplines.
At the National Academy of Art, the period for obtaining a Bachelor's degree is 4 academic years, and for a Master's degree – 1, 1,5 or 2 academic years. The Department of Restoration offers only a Master's degree programme in Restoration, which takes 5 years of training. The educational and scientific degree Doctor takes 3 years after obtaining a Master's degree. As of today, the National Academy is currently ptoviding education to nearly 1,000 local and foreign students and PhD.